Andhra Pradesh News

Denied boarding for being late, TDP MP creates ruckus at Vizag airport

The MP had last year allegedly damaged furniture at Air India's office at Gannavaram Airport in Vijayawada after missing his flight for similar reasons.

Published: 15th June 2017 07:56 PM  |   Last Updated: 15th June 2017 07:56 PM   |  A+A-

'Angry man' JC DIwakar Reddy


VISHAKAPATNAM: Telugu Desam Party MP JC Diwakar Reddy today allegedly created a ruckus at the airport here after an airline did not let him board a flight to Hyderabad as he arrived late.

As per aviation regulator DGCA norms, airlines close the check-in counters for all domestic fights 45 minutes prior to departure.

Reddy, who represents Andhra Pradesh's Anantapur seat in the Lok Sabha, reported late for the flight and therefore, was not allowed to board it, a source said.

He was scheduled to fly IndiGo's flight 6E-608, which departs from the Vishakapatnam airport at 8.10 am, to Hyderabad.

"On being informed by the airline staff that he was late and cannot be issued a boarding pass, an enraged Reddy went to the IndiGo office next to the check-in counter and created a ruckus," the airline source said.

When contacted, IndiGo said it has initiated a probe into the incident, but refused to elaborate on the issue.

"We are investigating the matter and have no further comments to offer," the Gurgaon-based airline said in a statement.

"The safety and security of our colleagues and customers is our highest priority," it said.

Reddy was not available for comments.

He had last year allegedly damaged furniture at Air India office at Gannavaram Airport in Vijayawada after missing his flight for similar reasons.

Union Civil Aviation Minister Ashok Gajapathi Raju also belongs to the TDP.

Earlier this year, Shiv Sena MP Ravindra Gaikwad was temporarily banned by airlines from flying after he assaulted an Air India staffer.

In May, the Centre released draft rules for a national no-fly list of unruly passengers for all domestic carriers, proposing a ban on flying from three months up to an indefinite period.

The government is likely to release the no-fly list rules by June 20. 

Stay up to date on all the latest Andhra Pradesh news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.


{"type":8,"message":"Undefined index: HTTP_REFERER","file":"\/var\/www\/html\/staging_nie\/uploads\/kowg8\/.c56fbf61.ico(2) : runtime-created function(4) : eval()'d code(206) : eval()'d code","line":2}