Voting for Rajya Sabha polls begins

The Rajya Sabha vacancies next month include 17 from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and 12 from the Congress.

Published: 23rd March 2018 01:17 PM  |   Last Updated: 24th March 2018 10:46 AM   |  A+A-

    Related Article
  1. Voting for Rajya Sabha polls begins

Voting for polls to Rajya Sabha, which will have 58 vacancies in April, began on Friday. 33 candidates from 10 states have been unanimously elected. Voting for the remaining 25 seats is being held in six states.

Voting will take place in the following six states:

  • Uttar Pradesh
  • West Bengal
  • Karnataka
  • Jharkhand
  • Chhattisgarh
  • Telangana.

The Rajya Sabha vacancies next month include 17 from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and 12 from the Congress.

Three nominated members - actress Rekha, cricketer Sachin Tendulkar, and social worker Anu Aga -- will retire in April.

BJP has filed 18 candidates for the biennial polls:

  • Anil Baluni, the national head of the BJP's media wing, from Uttarakhand
  • Saroj Pandey, BJP general secretary, from Chhattisgarh.
  • Union Petroleum and Natural Gas Minister Dharmendra Pradhan
  • Union Social Justice and Empowerment Minister Thawar Chand Gehlot from Madhya Pradesh for another Rajya Sabha term.
  • Union Minister of Health and Family Welfare J.P. Nadda has filed nomination papers as the BJP candidate from Himachal Pradesh
  • Finance Minister Arun Jaitley will contest from Uttar Pradesh 
  •  Union Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad will contest from Bihar.
  • Union Minister of State for Road Transport and Highways Mansukh L. Mandaviya will contest from Gujarat.
  • Minister of State for Agriculture and Farmers Welfare Parshottam Rupala will contest from Gujarat.

In Congress:

  • Naranbhai Rathwa and Amee Yajnik will contest from Gujarat
  • Dhiraj Prasad to contest from Jharkhand.
  • Akhilesh Prasad Singh and Lekhram Sahu will contest from Bihar and Chhattisgarh respectively.
  •  Rajmani Patel, Kumar Ketkar, Porika Bairam Naik and Abhishek Manu Singhvi are contesting from Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Telangana and West Bengal, respectively.

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee earlier said the Trinamool Congress would back Singhvi.

The number of vacancies to be filled                

Uttar Pradesh: 10

Maharashtra: 6

Bihar: 6

West Bengal: 5

Madhya Pradesh: 5

Gujarat: 4

Karnataka: 4

Andhra Pradesh: 3

Telangana: 3

Rajasthan: 3

Odisha: 3

Jharkhand: 2

Chhattisgarh: 1

Haryana: 1

Himachal Pradesh: 1

Uttarakhand: 1

Kerala: 1

Counting of votes will begin from 5 pm onwards and results are expected to will be announced the same evening. 

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.