BJP creates history by winning maximum seats in Shimla civic body

In a 34-member house of the Shimla Municipal Corporation, BJP won 17 seats missing the simple majority by one while Congress got 12 seats.

Published: 17th June 2017 05:19 PM  |   Last Updated: 17th June 2017 05:19 PM   |  A+A-

Scenes of victory at Shimla after Municipal Coporation polls results. | Indian Express


Shimla: The BJP on Saturday created history for the first time in three decades by winning the maximum seats in a 34-member house of the Shimla Municipal Corporation, but it failed to get a simple majority of 18 members. Its supported candidates won 17 seats.

Its arch rival the Congress, which ruled the civic body for 26 years till the last elections in May 2012, got its 12 candidates elected.

Four independents and one CPI-M candidate got elected in the counting that was held here.

Three independent candidates Sharda Chauhan, Kusam Lata and Sanjay Parmar announced their support to the Congress. This means the Congress has the support of 15 candidates, still short of the BJP's 17 winners.

"We are going to take control of the Municipal Corporation with the support of an independent," a senior Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader told IANS.

Fourth independent winner Rakesh Kumar is a BJP rebel and he's likely to extend support to the saffron party for getting a simple majority.

In 2012, the CPI-M won the posts of Mayor and Deputy Mayor, who were elected directly unlike this time. It thus ruled the civic body with its three members in the 25-seat house -- the majority of the councillors were from the BJP.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.