Malayalam News

Kerala State Film Awards 2016 announced: Manhole takes away the Best Film, Vinayakan bags the Best Actor

Kerala minister for culture A K Balan is announcing the 46th Kerala Film Awards. Over than 30 awards will be announced in the event.

Published: 07th March 2017 05:09 PM  |   Last Updated: 08th March 2017 01:31 AM   |  A+A-

By Express News Service

KOCHI: A K Balan, the minister for cultural affairs will announce 46th Kerala Film awards, a decision of the 10 member jury, led by Odisha director AK Bir at 5 pm on Tuesday. Directors Sundar Dass, Sudevan,  riyanandan, actor Shanti Krishna, singer VT Murali, writer PF Mathews,  sound designer Arun Nambiar, critic Dr. Meena T Pillai and Kerala Chalachitra Academy Secretary Mahesh Panju (member secretary) are  the members of the jury.  More than 30 awards will be announced.

A total of 68 movies were initially considered for the award, out of which 15 are reportedly short-listed by the jury in various categories after watching the movies at the Kinfra Film and Video Park at Kazhakkoottam.

Top contenders for the best film, director category are Kammatipaadam (Rajeev Ravi )Maheshinte Prathikaram (Dileesh Pothan), Kaadu Pookunna Neram (Dr Biju) Manhole (Vidhu Vincent ) Ayal Sasi (Sajin Babu) Karutha Joothan (Salim Kumar) and Pinneyum (Adoor Gopalakrishnan).

Mohanlal, (Pulimurugan, Oppam) Vinayagan and Manikantan (Kammatipaadam) Sreenivasan ( Ayal Sasi)  Fahad Fazil (Maheshinte Prathikaram) Salim Kumar (Karutha Joothan) are in the race for the best actor award while Rima Kallingal and Kavya Madhavan are the front runners  for the best actor (female).

Pulimurugan (Vysakh)Oppam(Priyadarshan), Munthirivallikal Thalirkkumbol (Jibu Jacob) Jomonte Suvisheshangal (Sathyan Anthikakd) are in consideration of the popular film along with Maheshinte Prathikaram.

Ann Maria Kalippilaanu (Midhun Manuel Thomas) Guppy (Johnpaul George ), Kismath (Shanavas K Bavakkutty), Aaradi (Saji Palamel) and Oru Muthassi Gadha (Jude Anthony Joseph ) are also considered for the awards in various category.

Here is the list of  the winners:

Best Film: Manhole (READ MORE: The story of manhole cleaners makes it to IFFK competition)  

Second Best Film: Ottayalpaatha

Best Director: Vidhu Vincent. She is the first woman to bag the state award for Best Director.

Vidhu Vincent, director of the film Manhole. | Express Photo Service

Best Actor: Vinayakan for Kammattippadam. (Also view gallery: The 48th Kerala State Film Awards: Surprises galore)

Second Best Actor: Manikantan Achary bags award for Kammattippadam

Best Actress: Rejisha Vijayan

Second Best Actress: Punnassery Kanchana for Olappeppi. She made a come back after 47 years.

Best Screenplay: Shyam Pushkaran for Maheshinte Prathikaram

Best Story: Salim Kumar for Karutha Joothan

Best Music Director: M Jayachandran for Kambhoji

Best background score: Vishhu Vijay for Guppy 

Best male singer: Sooraj Santhosh for Thaniye  in Guppy

Best female singer: K S Chithra for Nadavathil in Kambhoji

Best cameraman: M J Radhakrishnan for Kaadu Pookkunna Neram

Best film in technical category: Kaadu Pookkunna Neram

Best debut director: Shanavas K Bavakkutty for Kismath

Best Child artist (female): Abani Aadi  for Kochavva Paulo Ayyappa Koylo 

Best editor: B Ajith Kumar for Kammttippadam

Best Art: Gokuldas and Nagaraj for Kammttippadam

Best Location sync and Sound design: Jayadevan Chakkadath (Kaadu Pookkunna Neram)

Best Sound Mixing: Pramod  Thomas for Kaadu Pookkunna Neram

Best Colourist: Kaadu Pookkunna Neram

Best Costumes: Steffy Xavier for Guppy

Best Dubbing artist (male): Vijay Menon for Oppam

Best Dubbing artist (female): Thankamony for Olappeppi

Special jury award (cinematography): Gireesh Gangadharan for Guppy 

Special jury award (actoress): Surabhi Lakshmi for Minnaminung

Special jury award (Story): E Santhosh Kumar for Aaradi

Special jury award (actor): Kaladharan for Actor Ottayal Paatha

Stay up to date on all the latest Entertainment Malayalam news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.